My “Inconvenient” Morning

December 15, 2010

Alarm Clock 1Photo by: AlanCleaver_2000

I live in a major metropolitan city and occasionally there are occurrences in which public transportation becomes extremely delayed.  Today was just one of those days.  I receive email alerts every morning about the Metro and this morning, my phone was going crazy with alerts about all the days before I even got out of bed.  I made the executive decision to work from home until the madness subsided and go in once the Metro was cleared. 

I had time to do all sorts of things: tidy up, do a few dishes, cook my breakfast (a delicious egg, cheese, and tomato sandwich on wheat toast), and make sure I didn’t forget anything before work.  Simply having what turned out to be an extra half hour or so made a world of a difference. 

I am not at all a morning person.  I just function much better in the evening, so I am usually in bed until the very last second in the morning.  I’m usually rushing around like crazy and forgetting everything.  I rarely start out my day in a peaceful way.  It made me wonder what it would be like if I always had this extra time in the morning.  I would feel so much more prepared and less frantic. 

I’m going to attempt to go to bed a half hour earlier so I can wake up a half hour earlier and start my day right.  Do you have any tips on your motivation for starting the day early?  I need all the help I can’t get!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

