I Have a Voice: The Beauty of Voting

November 2, 2010

VOTE

I just love to vote. I have been fascinated by the political process ever since those Schoolhouse Rock days.

I remember the first time I voted in an election.  In 1992, I was in the third grade. All the classes in our grade were able to cast a vote for our mock election. I eagerly read all I could about Bill Clinton and George H.W. Bush (and even Ross Perot).  Filling in my ballot was a thrilling experience.

I cherished mock elections for the next few years.  2002 was the first year I could vote, although I was in college out-of-state so my first few voting opportunities were done by absentee ballot, which doesn’t exactly provide the same excitement.  The first opportunity I had to vote in person was the Presidential Elections of 2008.  It was so exciting to me.  Some people think that voting doesn’t matter.  “My candidate always wins.”  Or “My vote doesn’t really count.”  Or “Mid-term elections don’t count.”  To me, it’s all about the process of voting.  I think about many countries whose citizens have no voice in their government at all.  Or if they are able to even cast a vote, many times those elections are riddled with controversy and corruption.  Until not really that long ago, women and people of color were not even able to cast a vote.  Even though I have but one small vote, I will cast it with excitement and joy for the political process.  I am part of something larger than myself.  Even if my candidate doesn’t win, I have let my voice be heard.  Everyone can have a voice.   This is a beautiful thing to me.  Despite all it’s faults, this makes me proud of America.

So today I proudly wear my “I voted” sticker. 

I hope you will do your civic duty too.  http://www.rockthevote.com/

2 Responses to “I Have a Voice: The Beauty of Voting”

  1. Scott Says:

    I sadly didn’t vote, because I was too lazy to fill in an absentee vote, but when it comes down to the presidential election – I will, for sure.

    Glad to hear that there are some patriots out there ;)

  2. Catherine Says:

    I voted! My husband and I take our kids (11 and 8) to the voting booth with us and let them push the buttons. I usually don’t get what I vote for, but you never know!!! Voting is hopeful. I want to be hopeful.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

