Goals: How I Learned to Love Running

October 26, 2010

Running Shoes

Photo By Josiah Mackenzie

I have never been great at sports that require a lot of coordination.  Some people are just blessed with hand-eye coordination.  I am not one of those people.

Awhile back I was talking to a friend who had started running.  I used my old standby joke “I only run if someone is chasing me.”  I had never had any desire to run.  I have flat feet and have dealt with shin splints my entire life, so running never seemed appealing to me.  But my friend encouraged me to give it a try, claiming that if she could do it, I could.  So I decided to give it a whirl.

The great thing about running is that it doesn’t require anything fancy.  No special equipment or memberships to clubs.  All you need is a good pair of running shoes and the will to get out there. 

The first thing I had to do was stop comparing myself to other people.  (ALERT: Life lesson for all areas of life.)  Once I stopped worrying about how fast or far other people run, I was much happier with what I was doing.  There is a saying that is doesn’t matter how fast you go, “If you run, you are a runner.” 

One way I got started was with the Couch to 5K training plan.  As embarrassing as that name sounds, it’s a great program.  It allows you to start slowly and build up to longer distances.  That way you won’t get burnt out.  I was able to avoid shin splints by focusing on proper running form, slowing down if I started to feel shin pain, and stretching before and after runs.  

I have completed the program and plan on running a 5K in the spring.  (I want to run my first race in nice weather.  Don’t judge.)  I can’t wait to cross one more thing off the bucket list.

3 Responses to “Goals: How I Learned to Love Running”

  1. Kait Palmer Says:

    This was just what I needed to read! I just started training for a half marathon in January…yikes!


  2. That’s awesome, Kait! I would love to work up to a half, but I’m thinking I’ll need to do it gradually. I’m thinking after the 5K, I’ll try my hand at an 8 miler. Good luck! :)


  3. […] hey, remember when I said I was training for a 5K?  Great news: I totally ran […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

